Thursday, March 02, 2006

29th Annual Jane Chipman Memorial Lenten Organ Recitals

The Music Ministry of the First Congregational Church of Elgin and Jon Warfel, organist and music director, present the 29th Annual series of Jane Chipman Memorial Lenten Organ Recitals starting promptly at noon March 3rd. This half hour concert is free and open to the public.

The series was conceived by the late Jane Chipman. She invited organists from around the Fox Valley to come to FCC and present their talents for the enjoyment of the community. This will be the first series performed since the death of Mrs. Chipman last year. The church's current Music Director and Organist, Jon Warfel, plans and directs the Lenten programs. Jon's background includes being involved with several area churches and organizations including the Director of Music at Fox Valley Presbyterian Church in Geneva and Organist at Community Congregational church in Batavia. He has been the Director of Choral Activities at Waubonsee Community College since 1977. In addition since 2000 Jon has directed the Naperville Chamber Singers. He performs regularly with the "Buffalo Shufflers, a Roaring Twenties Show Band." In 1992 Mr. Warfel was chosen the outstanding Young Alumni of Northern Illinois University and in 1995 he received the Faculty of the Year Award from Waubonsee Community College. Jon has been a featured artist with the Orchestra of Illinois, The Illinois Chamber Symphony and the Fox Valley Symphony. The Lenten Organ series starts on March 3rd and runs through Good Friday. All concerts are held at the First Congregational Church at 256 E. Chicago St. Elgin. The church office can be reached at 847-741-4045.

This year's schedule is as follows:

3-03 Charles Sega, Director of Music/Organist, St. David's Episcopal Church Glenview

3-10 Richard Spantikow, Organist/Choirmaster, All Saints Episcopal Church, Western Springs

3-17 Jon Warfel, Music Director/Organist, First Congregational Church,

3-24 Howard Bakken, Former Director of Music/Organist, First Congregational Church, Elgin

3-31 Deborah Ayotte

4-7 John Kevin Linker, Director of Music/Organist, Church of the Good
Shepherd, Lexington, KY

4-14 Requiem in d minor, by Joseph Rheinberger, Chancel Choir
of First Congregational Church Elgin

Elgin Area Convention and Visitors Bureau Wins Awards

Congratulations to the Elgin Area Convention and Visitors Bureau for receiving top honors in three categories at the 2006 Illinois Governor's Conference on Tourism. The awards were for Best Visitors Guide, Best E-Newsletter, and Best Single Print Advertisement, for material produced in 2005.

Read the Courier News article here.

The EACVB serves 13 communities, including Bartlett, Carpentersville, East Dundee, Elgin, Gilberts, Hampshire, Huntley, Lake in the Hills, Marengo, Sleepy Hollow, South Elgin, Union and West Dundee.
For more information, call (847) 695-7540 or visit .

Wednesday, March 01, 2006

Deadline for Elgin Mayor’s Awards for Preservation

Today is the last day to submit a nomination for the Mayor’s Awards for Preservation.

For more information or questions regarding the Mayor’s Awards please contact Cindy Walden at 847-931-5910. Nomination are due by 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, March 1, 2006, to Cindy Walden, Planning Department, City Hall, 150 Dexter Court, Elgin, Illinois, 60120-5555. Those selected to receive a Mayor’s Award will be notified by April 2006.

Tuesday, February 28, 2006

Elgin Receives Grant for Historic Survey

The State of Illinois has awarded a $10,920.00 grant to Elgin for an intensive downtown survey of historic resources dating from 1840-1880. A new surge of downtown redevelopment has raised concerns for these remaining historic resources, since a large portion of Elgin was demolished between 1950-1960 to make way for urban renewal and civic center parking.
Contact Sarosh Saher (847) 931-5943 for more information.